Last Post of 2010

Well since today is the last day of 2010, I figured I should finish the year off with a blog post. The semester has ended, finals are over, Christmas has happened and I am now preparing for the final evening of 2010.

Overall I must say that 2010 was probably the most educational year of my life. I gained new contacts in the education community, found the benefits of social media, and began building my PLN (which I intend to continue adding to). As I sit here, just a mere year and a half away from completing my Bachelor of Education degree I can’t help but feel extremely excited, a bit nervous and anxious for what is to come for me in 2011.

This upcoming semester I will spend my days at a local high school instead of at the university, I am hoping this summer will provide some educational opportunities for me, and in the fall I will be participating in my internship semester. There are so many great things for me to look forward to and I can’t wait for 2011 to start so I can spend more times in schools, learning, and teaching.

I recently began reading The New Teacher Book (A Rethinking Schools Publication) and I am having trouble putting it down. This book provides advice to new teachers with real stories from educators sharing their experiences of their first years in the classroom. I hope to finish this book before the semester begins and to share it with my peers because I feel that it is a great read for any educators whether pre-service, new to the field, or teachers who have been in the field for a few years.

I will be sure to keep my blog updated in 2011 and wishing everyone the best in the new year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

