Future of Music Entertainment

As I was wandering around the internet looking for ideas for my ECMP final reflection, i stumbled upon something I found very intriguing. Hatsune Miku is a hit sensation in Japan. Who is Hatsune Miku? She is a singer synthesizer application based off of a female voice… an anime character. Essentially, Hatsune Miku is a digitally created character based off of Saki Fujita’s voice through a synthesizer application.

It wasn’t a surprise to me to find a singing animated character, voice synthesizers are a pretty hot trend these days but what surprised me was when I found out that Hatsune Miku holds concerts. She not just holds concerts, but sells them out! I didn’t understand how an animated character could sell out a concert, then I watched a video of one of her concerts.

In concert, Miku performs as a 3D hologram on stage… and people love it! I couldn’t understand why these people would pay money to go to a concert just to see a 3D hologram singing in a synthesized voice, but after watching a few of the videos I found the hologram to be very interactive with the group and put on a pretty good show.

What does this mean for the future of entertainment? But more importantly, what does this mean for the future of copyrights?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Future of Music Entertainment

  1. That is fascinating. Reminds me of the William Gibson novel, “Idoru” (1996). Crazy that things like that are happening now. Thank you for posting on that. Totally made my day.

  2. Pingback: Fiction becomes reality « Riley Munro's Blog

  3. Thanks Riley, I’m glad you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

