Let’s Raise Kids to be Entrepreneurs

This semester I have become an avid Twitter user. The people I follow continuously provide exciting, educational and just plain interesting links. A few days ago one of my followers sent me a tweet recommending I check out this video since he knows that I am a business education major and would find it interesting.

The video is a Ted Talk by Cameron Herold. In the video Cameron talks about all of the ways that he made money and acted as an entrepreneur as a child and even though he struggled in school, he is still a very successful individual. He also admits that he has been diagnosed with Bi-Polar Disorder and thinks that it is not a bad thing, he thinks that we are over-medicating children for ADD and ADHD which is killing their creativity.

I loved watching this video, it is 20 minutes of genuinely interesting content that I would love to show educators and students alike. I completely agree with the points in the video, just because a student struggles with academics does not mean that they cannot be successful. This video touches on a number of business subjects, there is the entrepreneurial aspect as well as personal finance, accounting, and career & work.

As a future business educator I absolutely agree that students should learn these life skills, such as how to make money and how to handle money once they have it. I would like to see an education system where students who do struggle with core academic subjects can find success like Cameron did.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Let’s Raise Kids to be Entrepreneurs

  1. I just recently viewed this talk as well. I appreciated that he began with, “Kids, when we grow up, have dreams, and we have passions…” and how sometimes schools can quash the passions of children as they work to fit them into a system of standardization. How do you think our schools can embrace the ideas he shared?

  2. Thanks for the comment Lyn. I really enjoyed this video and think that it would be beneficial for educators to watch this video to maybe help add to their perception of what we are educating our students for.

Leave a Reply

