Video Editing

As mentioned in a previous post, one of the assignments we were asked to complete in ECMP 355 was to shoot a video using a flip camera and edit it using iMovie ’08. The video was to be less than 90 seconds and involve a sound and a door that the actor/actress is struggling to open.

After coming up with our idea, my group wandered around the hallways of the university shooting the different scenes and brainstorming ideas of how we would edit them together and types of music we would add. Once the video was shot and uploaded, we began our editing journey… and a journey it was.

I have previously edited videos using iMovie ’06 and I find it to be very user-friendly and fairly easy to use. Although the ’06 version does have a few difficult features, I am comfortable with using it and have produced a number of decently-edited videos with it. The macbooks that we were using in class did not have iMovie ’06, but iMovie ’08 which is completely redesigned from the ’06 version.

At first I figured that a new version should mean that it would be improved and easier to use, instead I found that this new version was much more difficult and frustrating to use. Everything was different with this new version, different in a bad way. I found this program extremely difficult to use and understand how everything worked. In the ’06 version, adding music was a pretty simple task, the ’08 version made the task seem almost impossible! My whole group grew very frustrated with the program and I definitely feel that we would have produced a better quality video if we had used another program.

Although it was a struggle with iMovie ’08 we did manage to produce a decent video:

I would not recommend using this version of iMovie with students.

1 Comment

Filed under ECMP 355

One response to “Video Editing

  1. Lyn

    Your movie was little creepy. 🙂 I enjoyed it. I use iMovie HD and love it. Have used ’06 but never ’08 so I can’t compare. I’m going to hopefully buy iLife 11 in the coming weeks so I can check out the upgraded features. Keep on working w/the program and I think you’ll find you will quickly get the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

