About Me… and Technology

Hello, my name is Amy McFarlen and I am currently a third year student at the University of Regina. I am a Secondary Education student with a major in Business Education and a minor in Social Studies. I have enjoyed my previous two years of Education and am looking forward to what the next two years will bring, as well as where my career will take me.

I was born and raised in Regina and attended one of the largest high schools in the city where I enjoyed getting involved with as many extra-curricular activities as I could. I entered the Faculty of Education right out of high school and have been taking classes, working two jobs, and coaching basketball ever since. During the summer months I have taken classes and worked at a summer camp for youth with multiple disabilities and have organized and ran a summer camp for children who are blind or partially sighted. In my spare time I enjoy staying active, playing basketball, and spending time with my family and friends. I hope to be able to travel the world on day and love learning new things.

When it comes to technology… I love it. I am one of those people who must check their e-mails multiple times a day. Technology is extremely important in my personal life; it is my way to stay connected to my family, friends, and the rest of the world. I use technology very regularly in my school life by using URCourses to stay up-to-date with class and use the internet to do research for papers or class discussions, and I cannot even begin to express how much easier word processing has made my academic life. I also use technology everyday in my work environments, from keeping up-to-date statistics in a special computer program to sending e-mails and completing data entry. I feel as though I have a very basic understanding about technology and some of the great tools that it offers but I would love to learn more.

I am very excited to learn about new tools, websites, and applications that I will be able to bring into the classroom. I currently feel that technology is the way of the future and that it is very important in education. Students are being exposed to technology at a young age and are bringing this experience into the classroom with them everyday.  I believe that students learn best when they can relate to what they are being taught and at the present time, students can relate to technology such as social networks, ipods/mp3s, cell phones, etc. I also believe that there are definitely some major negatives to technology and that there needs to be boundaries when dealing with technology in schools. Educators must compete with advancing technology everyday in the classroom to get the attention of their students and to keep them engaged.

I am very excited to experience all that ECMP 355 has to offer this semester. I hope to gain new resources and tools that I will be able to use in my lessons and that I will be able to bring into the classroom. I know that technology has a lot to offer and I hope to learn as much as I can about all of the great educational benefits of it. I hope to become more confident with technology and would like to be able to connect with other educators through technology.

1 Comment

Filed under ECMP 355

One response to “About Me… and Technology

  1. Pingback: ECMP 355 Tech Tasks « Amy Mcfarlen's Blog

Leave a Reply

